News Archives

David Miller & Jose Luis Pacheco Win CalPERS Board Seats

Posted 2 years 148 days ago ago by Jamee Villa   

Member-at-Large Seats Represent Actives and Retirees

Sacramento, Calif.  – David Miller and Jose Luis Pacheco are declared the unofficial election winners for the two Member-at-Large seats on the CalPERS Board of Administration.

Election results are considered unofficial until formal certification by the California Secretary of State, which is expected to occur in or around November.

For Position A, the unofficial results indicate Miller received 138,453 votes, which represents 72.65% of the votes cast during the voting period of August 27 through September 27, 2021. Challenger Tiffany Emon-Moran received 52,117 votes, or 27.35%.

For Position B, the unofficial results indicate Pacheco received 116,296 votes, which represents 61.76% of the votes cast during the voting period. Incumbent Margaret Brown received 71,999 votes, or 38.24%.

Miller is an environmental scientist at the California Department of Toxic Substances Control with over 31 years of CalPERS covered service. He has been a Member-at-Large representative on the CalPERS Board since 2018.

Pacheco is a SharePoint developer & administrator with the San Jose-Evergreen Community College District with nearly 6 years of CalPERS covered service. He is vice-chair of the Board of Directors for the Santa Clara County Federal Credit Union and president of California School Employees Association Chapter 363.

The four-year term of office begins January 16, 2022, and concludes on January 15, 2026.

The 13-member CalPERS Board sets policy for retirement and health benefits on behalf of California public employers, and their active and retired employees. The board also oversees asset allocation of the pension fund's investments. Under the California Constitution, the CalPERS Board has exclusive authority to administer the CalPERS Fund.