California State Retirees endorses 2016 candidates

Posted 6 years 69 days ago ago by   

Sacramento, Calif. - The California State Retirees Board of Administration voted to endorse the following candidates in the June 7 primary election:

Legislative Incumbents
The vast majority of the Democratic incumbents recommended for endorsement are legislators who CSR has endorsed in the past and/or supported financially. Republican candidates recommended for endorsement have supported state employee Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) bills to augment state employee pay and benefits, and the state budget, which includes funding for retiree healthcare and CalPERS. They also refrained from demagogic attacks on public employee pensions. Most are running for reelection unopposed and/or without serious opposition in districts that strongly favor them. For these reasons, both recommended Democrats and Republicans are certain, or nearly certain, of advancing in June and winning in November 2016.

Open-Seat Candidates
The open-seat candidates recommended here have completed CSR’s questionnaire (positively) and are strongly positioned to win in November.

Assembly Incumbents Seeking Reelection
AD 01 Brian Dahle (R-Bieber)
AD 02 Jim Wood (D-Healdsburg)
AD 05 Frank Bigelow (R-O’Neals)
AD 07 Kevin McCarty (D-Sacramento)
AD 08 Ken Cooley (D-Rancho Cordova)
AD 09 Jim Cooper (D-Elk Grove)
AD 10 Marc Levine (D-San Rafael)
AD 11 Jim Frazier (D-Oakley)
AD 13 Susan Eggman (D-Stockton)
AD 15 Tony Thurmond (D-Richmond)
AD 17 David Chiu (D-San Francisco)
AD 18 Rob Bonta (D-Alameda)
AD 19 Phil Ting (D-San Francisco)
AD 20 Bill Quirk (D-Hayward)
AD 21 Adam Gray (D-Merced)
AD 22 Kevin Mullin (D-South San Francisco)
AD 23 Jim Patterson (R-Fresno)
AD 25 Kansen Chu (D-San Jose)
AD 26 Devon Mathis (R-Visalia)
AD 28 Evan Low (D-Campbell)
AD 29 Mark Stone (D-Scotts Valley)
AD 32 Rudy Salas Jr. (D-Bakersfield)
AD 33 Jay Obernolte (R- Big Bear Lake)
AD 36 Tom Lackey (R-Palmdale)
AD 38 Scott Wilk (R-Santa Clarita)
AD 40 Marc Steinorth (D-Rancho Cucamonga)
AD 41 Chris Holden (D-Pasadena)
AD 42 Chad Mayes (R-Yucca Valley)
AD 44 Jacqui Irwin (D-Thousand Oaks)
AD 45 Matt Dababneh (D-Encino)
AD 46 Adrin Nazarian (D-Sherman Oaks)
AD 47 Cheryl Brown (D-San Bernardino)
AD 49 Ed Chau (D-Monterey Park)
AD 50 Richard Bloom (D-Santa Monica)
AD 51 Jimmy Gomez (D-Los Angeles)
AD 52 Freddie Rodriguez (D-Pomona)
AD 53 Miguel Santiago (D-Los Angeles)
AD 54 Sebastian Ridley-Thomas (D-Los Angeles)
AD 56 Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella)
AD 57 Ian Calderon (D-Whittier)
AD 58 Cristina Garcia (D-Bell Gardens)
AD 59 Reggie Jones-Sawyer (D-Los Angeles)
AD 60 Eric Linder (R-Corona)
AD 61 Jose Medina (D-Riverside)
AD 62 Autumn Burke (D-Inglewood)
AD 63 Anthony Rendon (D-Lakewood)
AD 64 Mike Gipson (D-Carson)
AD 67 Melissa Melendez (R-Lake Elsinore)
AD 69 Tom Daly (D-Anaheim)
AD 70 Patrick O’Donnell (D-Long Beach)
AD 72 Travis Allen (R-Huntington Beach)
AD 73 William Brough (R-Dana Point)
AD 74 Matthew Harper (R-Huntington Beach)
AD 75 Marie Waldron (R-Escondido)
AD 76 Rocky Chávez (R-Oceanside)
AD 77 Brian Maienschein (R-San Diego)
AD 79 Shirley Weber (D-San Diego)
AD 80 Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego)

Senate Incumbents Seeking Reelection
SD 01 Ted Gaines (R-Roseville)
SD 05 Cathleen Galgiani (D-Stockton)
SD 13 Jerry Hill (D-San Mateo)
SD 15 Jim Beall (D-San Jose)
SD 17 Bill Monning (D-Carmel)
SD 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson (D- Santa Barbara)
SD 21 Sharon Runner (R-Antelope Valley)
SD 23 Mike Morrell (R-Rancho Cucamonga)
SD 31 Richard Roth (D-Riverside)
SD 33 Ricardo Lara (D-Bell Gardens)

Assembly Open Seats
AD 31 Joaquin Arambula (D-Fresno)
AD 37 Monique Limón (D-Santa Barbara)
AD 48 Bryan Urias(D-San Gabriel Valley)
AD 78 Todd Gloria (D-San Diego)

Senate Open Seats
SD 25 Anthony Portantino (La Canada Flintridge)
SD 39 Toni Atkins (D-San Diego)